Stone Barrington Series

A Comprehensive Review of the Stone Barrington Book Series

The Stone Barrington series, penned by prolific author Stuart Woods, invites readers into the thrilling world of high-stakes criminal investigations, political intrigue, and luxurious lifestyles. With over 50 novels to its name, the series has developed a dedicated following since the release of its first installment, “New York Dead,” in 1991. This comprehensive review delves into the enduring appeal of the Stone Barrington series, exploring its unforgettable protagonist, diverse cast of characters, and engaging plotlines.

The Protagonist: Stone Barrington

At the heart of the series is Stone Barrington, a former NYPD detective turned attorney at the prestigious law firm Woodman & Weld. Barrington is a charismatic and resourceful character, known for his wit, charm, and penchant for danger. As a protagonist, he consistently captivates readers with his unique blend of intelligence, humor, and a seemingly endless appetite for adventure.

Barrington’s evolution as a character throughout the series is one of its most compelling aspects. As he moves through various roles – from detective to attorney to consultant – readers witness his growth and adaptability. His connections to the elite and powerful, combined with his street-smarts and experience, make for an endlessly fascinating protagonist.

An Intriguing Ensemble of Supporting Characters

The Stone Barrington series boasts an extensive and colorful cast of supporting characters who enhance the narrative and provide depth to Barrington’s world. Some of the most notable characters include Dino Bacchetti, Barrington’s former NYPD partner and close friend, and the enigmatic CIA agent, Lance Cabot.

These characters, among others, serve to complement and challenge Barrington in various ways. Their interactions with the protagonist add layers of complexity and richness to the narrative, making the series more engaging for readers.

Fast-Paced, Engaging Plotlines

The Stone Barrington series is known for its high-octane, action-packed plotlines that keep readers on the edge of their seats. From murder investigations to political conspiracies, each novel offers a unique, fast-paced adventure that showcases Barrington’s resourcefulness and intelligence.

Stuart Woods consistently delivers exciting and suspenseful stories, expertly weaving together intricate plotlines with engaging character development. This balance between action and character-driven storytelling ensures that the series remains fresh and captivating for readers, even after several installments.

Enduring Appeal and Legacy

With its thrilling narrative, unforgettable protagonist, and diverse cast of characters, the Stone Barrington series has maintained its appeal for over three decades. Woods’ skillful storytelling, combined with his ability to create dynamic and engaging characters, has made the series a favorite among fans of crime fiction and mystery.

The Stone Barrington series continues to attract new readers and maintain the interest of dedicated fans, a testament to its enduring appeal and the talents of its author. It’s a must-read for those who enjoy action-packed, character-driven mysteries set against a backdrop of luxurious and glamorous lifestyles.

The Stone Barrington series offers readers an exciting and immersive reading experience, thanks to its charismatic protagonist, engaging plotlines, and richly drawn supporting characters. Fans of crime fiction and mystery novels should not hesitate to delve into the thrilling world of Stone Barrington, as created by the talented Stuart Woods.

Stone Barrington Books in Order

  1. New York Dead (1991)
  2. Dirt (1996)
  3. Dead in the Water (1997)
  4. Swimming to Catalina (1998)
  5. Worst Fears Realized (1999)
  6. L.A. Dead (2000)
  7. Cold Paradise (2001)
  8. The Short Forever (2002)
  9. Dirty Work (2003)
  10. Reckless Abandon (2004)
  11. Two Dollar Bill (2005)
  12. Dark Harbor (2006)
  13. Fresh Disasters (2007)
  14. Shoot Him If He Runs (2007)
  15. Hot Mahogany (2008)
  16. Loitering with Intent (2009)
  17. Kisser (2010)
  18. Lucid Intervals (2010)
  19. Strategic Moves (2011)
  20. Bel-Air Dead (2011)
  21. Son of Stone (2011)
  22. D.C. Dead (2011)
  23. Unnatural Acts (2012)
  24. Severe Clear (2012)
  25. Collateral Damage (2012)
  26. Unintended Consequences (2013)
  27. Doing Hard Time (2013)
  28. Standup Guy (2014)
  29. Carnal Curiosity (2014)
  30. Cut and Thrust (2014)
  31. Paris Match (2014)
  32. Insatiable Appetites (2015)
  33. Hot Pursuit (2015)
  34. Naked Greed (2015)
  35. Foreign Affairs (2015)
  36. Scandalous Behavior (2016)
  37. Family Jewels (2016)
  38. Dishonorable Intentions (2016)
  39. Sex, Lies & Serious Money (2016)
  40. Below the Belt (2017)
  41. Fast & Loose (2017)
  42. Indecent Exposure (2017)
  43. Quick & Dirty (2017)
  44. Unbound (2018)
  45. Shoot First (2018)
  46. Turbulence (2018)
  47. Desperate Measures (2018)
  48. A Delicate Touch (2018)
  49. Wild Card (2019)
  50. Contraband (2019)
  51. Stealth (2019)
  52. Treason (2020)
  53. Hit List (2020)
  54. Choppy Water (2020)
  55. Shakeup (2020)
  56. Hush-Hush (2021)
  57. Double Jeopardy (2021)
  58. Class Act (2021)